top of page

Kayamandi and Victoria!

The best experience I have had so far was the field trip to a nearby township named Kayamandi. I tried to prepare myself for what would happen when I was there and expected that I would feel sorry for them and the lives that had been handed down to them. To my amazement, I did not feel pity; I felt curious and in awe of what I experienced. As we followed Paul (our guide and local activist) and Spa, a Kayamandi resident, through the alleys of Kayamandi, Ashley asked me to describe, in one word, the feeling of the township. After pondering for a while, I decided on the word “community.” There were children laughing and playing, riding bikes, and singing as we walked by, which we later found out, thanks to Paul, was the children saying something about our lighter skin color. These kids were happy and the joy they felt to see us was tangible. A little girl tottered over to me and gave me the biggest hug after she and her mother noticed us as they rounded the corner.

The love of community came not only from the children, but also from adults we had the pleasure of meeting. Paul introduced us to a woman named Bongeka, whose English name is Victoria, who welcomed us to the community with open arms. She thoughtfully let us know we could also call her Queen Victoria if we wished to do so. She is a seamstress who graciously allowed us into her home and showed us her business and her crafts. Even with the limited interaction we had had with her, I could tell that Victoria is a happy person from the inside out, from her joyful soul to her warm smile. A man named Sam was also introduced to us and happily shared the story of his business with us.

Sam is the founder of a company that promotes love for one’s community by embroidering and printing on hats and t-shirts. He showed us a few t-shirts that say “I [heart symbol] {insert hometown here}” much like the “I love New York” shirts that are popular in the United States. Many people, especially those who come from poorer neighborhoods, feel ashamed about where they come from, but Sam’s belief in Kayamandi, and his story, prove that pride resides in Kayamandi too.


bottom of page